Game Icon3-Cushion

Final roun with 4 best teams in Dutch league


Published by frits bakker

© Ton Smilde
Eddy Merckx was the best of all in a round with many top matches

ZUNDERT - The four teams for the play-offs in the Dutch premier league are known. This Saturday, Topbiljart Zundert and Cues&Darts definitely qualified as numbers 3 and 4 and play each other, looking for a date for the match in Zundert. The first option is Wednesday 15 May, but that is just a suggestion. The winner of that match plays Team Eekhoorn in the next match and minor problems loom for that date as well because of the World Cup in Vietnam (20-26 May) and the Grand Prix in Rosmalen. The Zundert team will play in that first match with Sergio Jimenez, Thorsten Frings, Francis Forton and Sam van Etten. Cues&Darts with Glenn Hofman, Ruben Legazpi, Pierre Soumagne and Huub Wilkowski.

The four positions were finalized today, Saturday, in the 21st round of Kozoom league. SIS Schoonmaak and Team Eekhoorn were already known, Topbiljart won 0-8 away against Burgmans Biljarts and Cues&Darts played a draw away against Team Eekhoorn.

The most notable matches in this round were those of Eddy Merckx against Dave Christiani, in which the Belgian took a 21-0 lead after starting 9-2-0-10 and eventually played out with 8: Merckx won 40-9 in 12. Another top match came from Glenn Hofman in his match against Nikos Polychronopoulos, won by the Dutchman 40-24 in 14. For Team Eekhoorn, Peter Ceulemans played a very strong game: he beat Jef Philipoom 40-19 in 16 innings. Barry van Beers was a brilliant winner in the Brabant clash against Jean van Erp 40-13 in 15. Dion Nelin was also among the day's best players with a win over Steven van Acker: 40-16 in 16. Turgay Orak needed only 18 innings to beat Jeffrey Jorissen 40-29.

SIS Schoonmaak won the home match against Dekker 6-2, which meant elimination for the playoffs for Dekker. Eddy Merckx, Raymund Swertz and Martien van der Spoel were the winners for SIS. Raimond Burgman will not play this weekend as he celebrates his 60th birthday this Sunday.

Topbiljart Zundert took the maximum score at Burgmans after wins by Frings, Van Etten, Forton and Geysen. At Team Eekhoorn-Cues&Darts, the win for the home team was for Peter and Kurt Ceulemans, at Ces&Darts for Glenn Hofman and Pierre Soumagne.

Aartsbouw Sprundel and Bousema/JBScues remained in balance including a nice battle on centrecourt, in which Martin Horn won against Tayfun Tasdemir 40-38 in 21. DKM Tools played its way to the safe middle ground by winning in the away match against Dallinga.com 6-2. Peter De Backer was the only winner for Zeeland's home team against Ronny Lindemann 40-39 in 31. Birol Uymaz beat Jean Paul de Bruijn 40-35 in 28, Davy van Havere won against Raymond Ceulemans 40-20 in 25.

The battle at the bottom against relegation centres on four teams. Team Nachtwacht is already definitely disappearing from the premier league due to its 4-4 against J&F Auto's. For Team Nachtwacht, Erwin Kivits and Harrie van de Ven won, while for J&F Auto's, Joey de Kok and Herman van Dallen were winners.

Tomorrow, Sunday, it will be between J&F Auto's, Burgmans Biljarts and Aartsbouw Sprundel which team will finish on 11 (direct relegation) and which team on 10 (relegation match against Post Luchtkanalen).

There have been a few changes in the schedules for Sunday. The line-ups are now:

Sunday 22nd round:

STZ Zundert-SIS Schoonmaak

Thorsten Frings-Eddy Merckx

Sam van Etten-Jean van Erp

Francis Forton-Raymund Swertz

Danny Geysen-Martien van der Spoel


Dekker/APSprundel-Team Eekhoorn

Dave Christiani-Nikos Polychronopoulos

Barry van Beers-Frans van Kuyk

Gerwin Valentijn-Kurt Ceulemans

Henk Blauwblomme-Jerry Hermans


Cues&Darts/Xtreme-Burgmans Biljarts

Glenn Hofman-Anno de Kleine

Pierre Soumagne-Marco Janssen

Huub Wilkowski-Andy de Bondt

Jack van Peer-Johan Roijers


Bousema/JBScues-J&F Auto/New Jorissen

Martin Horn-Murat Gökmen

Jeffrey Jorissen-Kay de Zwart

Stefan Galla-Joey de Kok

Frans van Schaik-Herman van Daalen


DKM Tools-Aartsbouw Sprundel

Birol Uymaz-Tayfun Tasdemir

Dion Nelin-Turgay Orak

Roland Uijtdewillegen-Ronny Brants

Jack Wijnen-Tom Persyn


Team Nachtwacht-Dallinga.com

Erwin Kivits-Jean Paul de Bruijn

Harrie van de Ven-Steven van Acker

Frank Martens-Peter De Backer

Frits Broeders-Berry Dallinga