Game Icon3-Cushion

Belgian league: De Bruijn beats Jorissen in Dutch clash


Published by frits bakker

© Kurt Ceulemans
Roland Forthomme and Kurt Ceulemans, best players in Herstal-Mr. 100

TURNHOUT - In the Belgian team competition, Biljart Express has further extended its lead over the most dangerous rival, Herstalien, in the 13th round. The team led by Eddy Merckx is two points ahead (22/20) now to Roland Forthomme's team thanks to Biljart Express' 6-2 home victory over Bruges. Nevertheless, Herstalien achieved a good result against Mister 100: a 4-4 draw.

Eddy Merckx beat Steven Van Acker 40-16 in 20, Frans Van Kuyk lost to Henk Blauwblomme 36-40 in 36, Dave Christiani won against Koen Saver 40-36 in 34 and Martin Spoormans beat Bart Leys 40-24 in 33. Brugge are eighth in the championship.

Mister 100 could count on Kurt Ceulemans and Marco Janssen to take a point against Pierre Soumagne (40-23 in 17 innings) and Thomas Broux (40-39 in 40). Herstalien secured two wins by Roland Forthomme against Peter Ceulemans (40-32 in 22 innings) and Dany Boutet against Bart Ceulemans (40-39 in 45). Kurt Ceulemans and Roland Forthomme were therefore the best players in that encounter.

Six points behind the leader in 3rd place, Op de Meir recorded the best team average of the day with 1.627 as the home team played against De Witte Molen. Only Frédéric Mottet, for the visitors, recorded a nice victory over Jef Philipoom 40-33 in 28 overs. Barry Van Beers and Roland Uijtdewillegen shone with 2.105 (40 in 19) against Francis Forton and Ad Broeders, Wesley de Jaeger beat Benny Ceulemans in 28 innings.

De Leug secured a match point against Billard Promotie. For the visitors, both points were taken by Davy Van Havere against Kay De Zwart with 40-36 in 38 and by Andy De Bondt against Marc Janssen by 40-37 in 31. For the home team, still bottom of the rankings, the newly crowned Dutch champion Jean Paul de Bruijn was the better of Jeffrey Jorissen 40-29 in 24 in a Dutch clash and Peter Meersman beat Mik Durwael 40-26 in 31.

In the middle of the rankings, 6th-placed Kortrijk played against 9th-placed De Ploeg 1. The visitors won 7-1 with Dustin Jäschke's best game against Ronny Brants 40-31 in 23. Joey De Kok and Eddy Willems defeated Martin Ravestyn and Philippe Vandendriessche 40-39 in 40 and 40-37 in 44, while Roger Roefs and Frédéric Beghin played a draw.

Finally, 7th-placed T'S Place was held to a draw by 11th-placed De Leug 2: Johan Loncelle defeatedPeter De Backer 40-25 in 21 and Sylvain De Cleen beat Marc Van Der Spiegel 40-39 in 52. Huub Wilkowski and Freddy Staelens redressed the balance in 26 and 24 innings respectively against Kenny Miatton (25 points) and Joeri De Cleen (13 points).